You are here


Since the Duke of Wellington established the Institute in 1831, many of the most influential thinkers have spoken at its podium, published their ideas in RUSI’s publications and have been recognised for their contribution to the practice and understanding of defence and security.

To recognise such excellence, RUSI awards the following prizes. 

Chesney Gold Medal

The Chesney Gold Medal is the highest award in the gift of the Council of the Royal United Services Institute.

The medal is awarded to mark a life-long distinguished contribution to international defence and security, to the benefit of the United Kingdom and/or the international community. It was first awarded in 1900 to Captain Alfred Thayer Mahan of the US Navy, and recipients since have included Winston Churchill, Margaret Thatcher and Dr Henry Kissinger, among others.

The Duke of Westminster’s Medal for Military Literature

Running annually since 1997, the Westminster Medal is awarded to a book by a living author – regardless of nationality, gender or age – which makes a notable and original contribution to the study of international and national defence and security.

Trench Gascoigne Essay Prize

RUSI’s annual essay competition is awarded for original writing on contemporary issues of national and international defence and security.

Donation for building 1

Donation for building 1